Enter your email address and we'll send you a link you can use to pick a new password.

arrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-upbiocircleclosedownloadfacebookgplus instagram linkedinmailmenuphoneplaysearchsharespinnertwitteryoutube

Wenda Harris Millard, President, Media, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, Elected Chairman of IAB Board of Directors

IAB Also Names Executives from AT&T and BabyCenter to Board of Directors

New York, NY (February, 5, 2008) – The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) announced today that its Board of Directors has elected Wenda Harris Millard as Chairman. Millard has served as Vice Chair of the IAB Board of Directors since September 2007 and on its Executive Committee since 2003. She assumes her new role from Jim Spanfeller, who had been Chairman since 2006 and will continue to serve on the Board of Directors and on the Board’s Executive Committee.

The IAB also announced the election of two new members to its Board of Directors, Tina Sharkey, Chairman and Global President, BabyCenter, and Mark Collins, Vice President, Consumer Data, AT&T’s wireless unit.

“We are thrilled that Wenda has been elected to chair the Board of the IAB – a key industry role that will benefit from her extraordinary talents and commitment to the interactive sector,” said Randall Rothenberg, President and CEO of the IAB. “We are also pleased that Tina and Mark have joined the board, bringing new dimensions to our work at a time when the industry is continuing to experience dramatic innovation and change. BabyCenter represents one of the interactive industry’s great advances in branded content, and AT&T is a prime innovator in mobile marketing. We look forward to their expert contributions.”

With these recent additions, the IAB’s Board of Directors is now comprised of interactive organizations from across the breadth of platforms and technologies, reflecting the industry’s enormous growth and consumers’ increased appetite for and adoption of interactive media. Interactive advertising revenues were on track to exceed $20 billion in 2007, according to research by the IAB and Price Waterhouse Coopers.

In additional news, the IAB also announced that Ms. Millard, Mr. Spanfeller and Ms. Sharkey will be among the industry leaders playing key roles at its first ever off-site annual meeting, February 22-24 in Phoenix, Arizona. Entitled Ecosystem 2.0—Driving Growth in Digital Marketing, the conference features an unprecedented lineup of industry leaders from media companies, marketers, and agencies coming together to address the most pressing issues facing the interactive marketing and advertising market. For more information on Ecosystem 2.0, please visit www.iab.net/events_training/ecosystem20/overview

The IAB Board of Directors 2008

Tim Armstrong, Google Inc.*
Neil Ashe, CNET Networks, Inc.*
Michael Barrett, Fox Interactive Media/MySpace
John Battelle, Federated Media
Bob Carrigan, President, IDG Communications, Inc.
Sarah Chubb, President, CondéNet
Mark Collins, AT&T
Ned Desmond, Time Inc
Jonathan Ewert, LookSmart
Joe Fiveash, The Weather Channel Interactive
Mitch Golub, Cars.com
Mike Hard, Microsoft Digital Advertising Solutions*
Peter Horan, IAC
David Karnstedt, Yahoo!
Patrick Keane, CBS
Randy Kilgore, Tremor Media
Leon Levitt, Cox Newspapers
Caroline Little, Washington Post Newsweek Interactive
Dave Madden, WildTangent
Riley McDonough, WebMD Health
Wenda Harris Millard, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia (Chairman)*
Dave Moore, 24/7 Real Media, Inc. (Secretary)*
Dave Morgan, AOL*
Peter Naylor, SVP, NBC Universal
Martin Nisenholtz, New York Times Company*
David Payne, CNN.com
Lance Podell, Seevast
Randall Rothenberg, Interactive Advertising Bureau (President & CEO)*
Javier Saralegui, Univision Online
Warren Schlichting, Comcast Spotlight
Tina Sharkey, BabyCenter
Tad Smith, Reed Business
Jim Spanfeller, Forbes.com*
Steve Wadsworth, Walt Disney Internet Group*
Jeff Webber, USATODAY.com
Matt Wise, Q Interactive
Dave Yovanno, ValueClick Media
Bruce Gordon, Walt Disney Internet Group, ex-officio (Treasurer)*
Rich LeFurgy, Archer Advisors, ex-officio*

*Member of Executive Committee

About the IAB:
Founded in 1996, the Interactive Advertising Bureau (www.iab.net) represents over 450 leading interactive companies that actively engage in and support the sale of interactive advertising. IAB members are responsible for selling over 86% of online advertising in the United States. On behalf of its members, the IAB is dedicated to the continuing growth of the interactive advertising marketplace, of interactive’s share of total marketing spend, and of its members’ share of total marketing spend. The IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices, fields interactive effectiveness research, and educates marketers, agencies, and media companies, as well as the wider business community, about the value of interactive advertising.

IAB Media Contact:
Marla Nitke

Biographies of Members Highlighted within this News Announcement:

Millard is President, Media at Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia (MSLO), overseeing MSLOs media businesses, which include Publishing, Internet and Broadcasting. Previously she held senior positions at Yahoo!, Ziff Davis Media, DoubleClick, SRDS, Family Circle and Adweek magazines. Millard has received numerous industry awards including the American Advertising Federations Silver Medal Award as Advertising Person of the Year. Advertising Age named her a Digital Media Master, acknowledging her as one of the 20 most influential executives in interactive media.

Tina Sharkey is Chairman and Global President of BabyCenter LLC and has more than 20 years of experience in the evolution of new media, ranging from the introduction of HDTV in 1986 to the forefront of Web 2.0 today. Prior to joining BabyCenter, she held a variety of senior positions with America Online, Inc., served as Group President of Sesame Workshop’s Online Services, creating their award-winning Internet business, and in 1995, coined the phrase “Social Media” as co-founder and Chief Community Architect of iVillage.com. A Henry Crown Fellow at the Aspen Institute, Ms. Sharkey also serves on the board of the Online Publishers Association.

Mark S. Collins is Vice-President, Consumer Data for AT&T’s wireless unit in Atlanta. He was appointed to this position in May of 2007. Collins most recently served as Vice-President, Long Term Products and Services Planning. Prior to this assignment, he served as Vice-President and General Manager of Cingular’s operations in the New England Market. Mr. Collins has more than 20 years of leadership experience in the telecommunications industry. He has served in a variety of assignments in AT&T’s wireless unit, Cingular, and BellSouth, including Executive Director, Corporate Strategy and Planning, and General Manager, BellSouth Mobility DCS.

Get the latest from IAB in your inbox

Be the first to know. Sign up to receive news about the IAB programs, standards, events, classes, and more!